Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Nine

I don’t set up floral still-lifes very often. First of all, I’m the world’s worst flower arranger. Secondly, some of my students don’t really like painting flowers. Many do, though, and flowers are a good subject for the angled/flat brush. I asked the Tuesday classes to treat it as an exercise and several did more than one study. Here are my AM and PM demonstrations.

Everyone agreed that the trickiest part was the foliage. I feel that the flowers are the ‘stars’ of the painting and that the foliage is ‘best supporting actor’. The lightest flowers are painted with very thin, luminous washes. My first wash for the foliage is always a bit darker, in order to set the flowers off clearly. Then, I look into those shadowy areas of stems and leaves and add darker shapes, some positive (a dark stem) and some negative (dark shapes to bring out a light stem or leaf). Confidence comes with experience, of course. Hopefully, those who enjoy florals will take some of these ideas home, buy some flowers and continue their study of this challenging subject.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Nine”

  1. northpenninegallery Says:

    That’s how I think, just can’t paint what I think! So simple- yet very difficult to paint so simply.

  2. Stephen Says:

    Nice class this – thanks Barry – I like NorthPs comment too – follow your own star…

    Confidence and experience – yes – lots and lots of experience. I have just read Malcom Gladwell’s outliers where he talks about 10 000 hours – it takes 10 000 hours of work to master anything. Interesting thought!
    At the same time we have to enjoy the process, the journey there. Which is why I suppose we must get clear on our passion. Our gift. A worst nightmare for me would be having to spend 10 000 hours doing accounting – but someone else has that gift (phew!!!). But 10 000 hours of painting in watercolour? Now that sounds like a slice of heaven.

    Oh dear

    Sorry to use this space to thing aloud.

    (o:

Leave a Reply

