Korea Trip – Last Few Days!

I’m back in one piece, thoroughly jet-lagged and with wonderful memories of a fantastic experience. Last Friday was a big day. This was our sketching site (above) and I couldn’t wait to start painting. I decided to work in a more traditional manner. I’m actually faster with this approach than I am with my ‘Cubist’ style and I wanted to do at least two pieces in the time available. I clambered down to the rocky beach to find my first subject. This is a fairly small watercolour, about 8 x 10″.

A huge bunker-like modern building overlooked the coastline and it housed a very fine restaurant. Much to our surprise, lunch was a gourmet five-course Nouvelle Cuisine affair. Very yummy and artistically presented. Check out the view in the photo below. The artists seen here are from Korea, Australia, France, Argentina and Russia.

A life drawing session at the Mutant Gallery (I think it means something different in Korean) was scheduled for the afternoon but several of us opted to stay and paint the landscape. Our rational: we can do life drawing at home. I did another watercolour and, also, a quick pen and watercolour  sketch of Soheila at work. Soheila lives in London and represented the UK.

After sketching, we rejoined our comrades at the Mutant Gallery where our work from the week had been installed with record-breaking speed. My new Chinese friend, He Xi, is posing next to his lovely brush drawings. The reception was followed by a pig roast/buffet and a spirited party with excellent live music. Much good cheer and dancing was involved.

We returned to Seoul on Saturday and stayed the night in a Buddhist Temple and participated in a tea ceremony and meditation sessions. The group went shopping on Sunday but Kerry and I were invited to the country home of Professor Koo and enjoyed a wonderful lunch prepared by his wife. They are both artists and their house has two fabulous studios. Unfortunately, I had to get home so I missed the final dinner with my new friends.

I’ll wrap up with a group shot taken at the Jeju Folk Museum. You can’t hear it but we are all yelling ‘One More!’ This was our running joke of the week (Kamal from Saudi Arabia started it) at our constant photo-ops. I think it’s safe to say that we would all like to experience this ‘One More!’ time.  We’ll never forget the generosity of our Korean hosts, the fun we had and the new friendships we made.

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Korea Trip – Last Few Days!”

  1. Barb Stanley Says:

    It looks like you had an amazing time Barry. Can’t wait to hear all about it

  2. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    What an amazing experience. I am so jealous…not really – just happy for you.

  3. Susan power Says:

    Very nice paintings too.

  4. Chris Aerfeldt Says:

    Great to hear that you got home safe & sound! It was so wonderful to meet you in Korea, and yes, we were all disappointed too that you missed the final dinner. Heard it took about 5 hours for the drive into Seoul. Loved reading your blog and seeing the pics. I’ll get mine done very soon too and let you know when it’s up.

  5. Kim and Rick Brown Says:

    Wow, what a wonderful experience. I’m sure you came away with memories that will last a lifetime. Hopefully we can get together to hear all about it.

  6. Stephen Says:

    What a wonderful story – thanks for sharing this. I love your coastal rock paintings.

Leave a Reply

