Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Five

Here’s our Saturday still-life from a different angle. The Tuesday painters worked from it yesterday. I had prepared a value study (below) ahead of time, using the approach we’ve been exploring for several classes. I showed it to both the morning and evening class. During the evening, I glazed some colour on it.

I chose a fairly small area of the still-life for the study. Even so, there is a good deal of editing and simplification involved with the straw and corn husks. Most of the painters will be happy to never see straw or corn husks again. Still, they did some terrific work, as you can see below.

Next week, I’ll be teaching a four-day workshop in Thunder Bay, Ontario. It’s called ‘Drawing into Painting’. We’ll start with some drawing fundamentals and move into pen and ink, pen with monochromatic wash and, eventually, pen with watercolour. I’ll keep you posted. Tuesdays will be back in two weeks.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Five”

  1. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    You are a great teacher – as evidenced by the remarkable work done by your students. And you are teaching them some of the most important and practical concepts. If I ever learn to edit and simplify maybe I will be a good painter!

  2. northpenninegallery Says:

    I follow these posts and marvel at the quality of work on display! I love the small still life above, it’s so simply done, and we all know that’s the sign of a master!

  3. Northpenninegallery's Blog Says:

    […] Looking back on Amber’s recent post ‘Tears in the Rain’ which was beautifully rendered and Barry Coombs watercolour workshops, I’m stuck between where I want to be. The colours in Barry’s pumpkins are a joy as are the […]

Leave a Reply

