Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Four

I broke out the box of hats that we painted last winter and added a few new ones, as well. Here are two demonstrations from the winter class that we looked at again yesterday. It’s the value/glazing approach that I presented with most of the apples last week.

I started yesterday’s demonstration with a wet-in-wet wash with Cobalt Blue. We’d already discussed the value/glazing approach so I developed the demo in a more direct way. Step one (below left) shows the preliminary wash. In step two, I concentrate on big shapes, many with soft-edge gradations. The background, for instance, was painted from left to right. I added blue as I moved to the right.

By the way, I didn’t force the class to watch this entire demo from start to finish. They watched the beginning. While they worked on their own paintings, I split my time between looking over shoulders to offer individual advice and continuing with the demo. Occasionally, I held up the piece to show them progress. The students were also welcome to watch me while I painted.

Step three (below left) resolves all of the big shapes except cast shadows. This is a patient ‘big to small’ and ‘light to dark’ process. Step four shows attention to the smaller and darker shapes. You’ll have noticed that I’ve taken great liberties with colour.

Most of the students began, as suggested, with a preliminary wash. After that, some used the value/glazing approach and some followed the day’s demo. Can you tell the difference in the work below? Also, which ones are most influenced by the blue wash?

 

Tuesday PM Critique

 

 

Tuesday AM Critique

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Four”

  1. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    Very impressive work by your students. Vibrant and each one is so different.

  2. Barry Coombs Says:

    Thanks, Linda. It’s interesting and enjoyable to see the differences. The general approach is fairly similar but seems to allow individual personalities to emerge.

Leave a Reply

