More From Grand Manan

We’ve been enjoying our free week on the island. I didn’t even paint for a few days but I found a good use for my otherwise idle easel (above). Back to work, I tried a new way of planning a watercolour. I worked out the compositon in pencil and markers on an 18 x 24” sheet of Cartridge paper. My watercolour block is the same size. See my planning sheet below.

Here is the preliminary drawing with the first wash (below left). Next to that is the piece with some of the sky completed. The subject is North Head Harbour in the evening when the light is very special. We leave tomorrow morning but I’ll post a few more steps when we get home.

We bought our fresh lobster rolls at the Farmer’s Market and made a farewell tour of some of our favorite spots on the island. We looked at the herring smokesheds at Seal Cove and had lunch on the magical beach at Deep Cove. Our young friend was also soaking up the sun while the rest of his seal pals cavorted nearby in the water.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “More From Grand Manan”

  1. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    Thank you for sharing your experiences in this special place. I wonder how many readers have become interested in visiting this area thanks to your commentary and paintings. Your paintings are marvelous and the location is beautiful.

  2. Barry Coombs Says:

    I’m as interested as you are, Linda. We’re on the road now and I’ll be posting soon about our gallery hopping through Maine and Massachusetts. Thanks for your thoughtful and positive feedback about the workshops.

Leave a Reply

