Charlevoix, Quebec – Days Three, Four and Five

I demonstrated some ideas about various elements that we encounter in the landscape such as rocks, grasses and trees. Our painting day was centered in Sainte-Irenee, another village along the river. Charming painting subjects can be found at every turn.

I usually limit my demonstrations to 30 or 45 minutes, if that. On Thursday morning, the rule was broken as I gave a two hour lesson in our studio. I did the pencil drawing the previous evening so I was able to go straight into painting. The piece is very imaginative and playful although I drew it on-site. You’ll see four steps of the piece below.

There are only a few changes in the final two steps. It’s not the greatest design but I had a lot of fun with it. I discussed the role of white and the application of soft-edge washes, amongst other things. In an effort to keep it fresh, I painted every area only once and resisted the urge to rework spots.

Friday morning’s demo was much quicker and a bit smaller. I used an angled brush and you can see the variety of shapes it can produce. A lot of paper-white has been left untouched.

The photo below is of me and Marie Tremblay. Marie has worked at the Auberge for many years. In 1987, she bought a sketchbook and asked a visiting artist to leave a sketch on one or two pages. I looked through it today and was very impressed. What a wonderful project. Even better, she asked me to contribute to her second book and I was very happy to oblige. My little memento for Marie can be seen below and to the right.

It’s been a full week and this is our last day. Tonight, we’ll enjoy our Farewell Dinner and follow that with what I call Final Critique. It’s a chance to review the week in an informal and companionable way.

Everyone has worked hard and we’ve had a lot of fun. Our tired painter worked mostly with pen and watercolour this week and created several very successful pieces. She deserves a little catnap while her friend perseveres with a watercolour above and behind her.

I can’t say enough about the hospitality the Auberge has extended to us. Everyone has been helpful and cheerful all week. This is a very special part of the world and I hope to be back next year.

Tomorrow morning, we’re off early to catch a ferry across the historic Saint Lawrence River. We’ll have a night of rest in Saint John, New Brunswick before continuing on (another ferry) to Grand Manan Island. I can’t believe I’ll be teaching on the island for my twentieth year. We’re having scallops for our Welcome Dinner on Sunday night. Sounds good, eh?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Charlevoix, Quebec – Days Three, Four and Five”

  1. Trish & Jacques Says:

    Wow! Looks like a wonderful week of painting (and pen and ink) with weather fully cooperating for the workshop. Wish we were there. Congratulations to Year Two in Charlevoix and have fun with Year Twenty in Grand Manan. That lovely island holds so many memories and friendships. Bonne chance and safe journey.

    T&J

  2. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    Barry, wonderful paintings, lessons and commentary. I love your last painting. It dances with life!

Leave a Reply

