Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Ten

That’s it. Spring term at my studio has ended. I don’t offer studio classes during the summer months. I’ll be on the road a fair bit, leading workshops in Quebec and New Brunswick before returning in August for my annual Toronto Outdoor Week. Next week, I’ll be teaching at the Blue Mountain School of Landscape Painting. Check it out at http://www.bluemountainpainting.ca. I plan to post as often as I’m able from this lovely area of Ontario.

The Georgian Bay beaches must have been on my mind when I set up our still-life for yesterday. My demonstration on the left is another quick one and it’s about 6 x 8″. Everyone got into the mood and the paintings featured umbrellas and sand-castles and other elements that we find on a summertime beach.

I discussed watercolour sketching. We’re often traveling with family or friends and don’t find the time to paint or sketch. However, with practice, a small and fresh work can be created in less than an hour during a picnic break at a scenic spot. It’s important to keep it small and simple and not try to achieve the same result you might expect from a sustained piece. A watercolour sketch may be developed in the studio at a later date. Many artists will take photos for reference, as well, but a photo rarely captures the mood of the time and place the way a sketch can. There’s a lot to be said for spontaneity and immediacy.

I’d like to thank my students and all of you who follow my blog. Your comments are always a pleasure to read. Stay tuned next week for demonstrations and photos from the Blue Mountains of Ontario.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Ten”

  1. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    I feel like a broken record…exciting set up, incredibly helpful commentary and marvelous painting! Maybe next week I’ll just type “Ditto”.

Leave a Reply

