Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Five

We worked from the same still-life that I used on Saturday. I’ve shown a different angle of it above. I presented many of the same ideas from Saturday and the last several Tuesdays. One new idea was explored.

The first step of this demonstration (above left) was to soak the sheet with water. While wet, I touched in yellows and reds quite randomly. When the sheet was dry, I did my pencil drawing. The second step (above right) shows the development of middle tones.

The next step (above left) shows the darker middle tones and darks. I followed the ‘light to dark’, ‘big to small’ and ‘soft to crisp’ process. The demo I’ve just discussed was done for the evening class. The morning demo (above right) was done using the same process.

These demonstrations took about half an hour to complete so there are messy bits but, sometimes, a feeling of spontaneity can be a positive thing. They are done on Curry’s 140 lb., cold press paper. This paper is absorbent and perfect for the soft-edge techniques I’ve employed.

I’ll show you what the morning artists came up with on Tuesday.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

