Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Seven

I set up a still-life of cardboard boxes for my Tuesday classes and have survived to tell the tale. The most daunting element of this subject, for most of the students, was the perspective. We discussed the use of a measuring stick to help understand the angles.

I asked the students to use a tightly-cropped composition. This allowed us to concentrate on planes and shapes and, in some cases, an almost abstract treatment was the result.

In step one of my demo, I started with the pencil drawing. I then soaked the sheet with water and touched in yellows and reds. This wash was completely dry before I started the next step.

Step two shows the development of middle tones and boxes are starting to appear. I combined cool (olive green) and warm (cool red) colours in these washes. I used a violet in the background to complement the yellows.

Step three introduces darker middle tones and a few brushstrokes intended to suggest corrugation.

This is the fourth and final step. I’ve added some of the darkest shadows as well as phrases and symbols from the boxes. As you can see from the photo of the still-life above, I was selective about what I chose to include. More detail, particularly the corrugation, has enhanced the image.

I should have painted ‘THIS SIDE UP’ on a bit more of an angle to make it work better on the flap. You must be curious about what the students did with this exercise. Here are shots from the critiques.

Tuesday AM Class - Week 7

Tuesday PM Class - Week 7

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Seven”

  1. Katherine Frech Says:

    WOW! These look amazing! You may have gotten alot of grumbles, but the results are fabulous. I’m so sorry I missed the class 😦

Leave a Reply

