Cubist Watercolour Workshop – student work

I’ve received two images from Mary Foord, a Willowdale Group of Artists member and participant in my cubist watercolour workshop. Mary felt a bit out of her comfort zone and that’s not unusual given the nature of the workshop. It is a challenge and she definitely responded well. This is her first image. It is quite imaginative and dynamic. I like the red/green colour system but I find the red circles a bit overwhelming. The whites are set off strongly by the middle tones.

This is the second painting Mary created and it is my favorite of the two. My first impression is of a light and airy elegance. The tension between space and flatness is quite compelling. The blue/orange pattern is lovely, the whites are well distributed and the blacks are placed very effectively.  I’m not sure what everything is but I don’t mind that at all. I enjoy the mystery.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

